My First Acupuncture

So I decided to tackle this elbow injury with a trip to an acupuncturist. I figured it worked so well for my dog, Fay, that I would try it myself. My friend suggested her doctor as she had a great experience with her in solving her own health aliments. I got the impression that the doctor would be very comprehensive and holistic in her approach and diagnosis. I was not disappointed. She spent about an hour and a half discussing my overall wellness and tweaked a few herbs and vitamins. She suggested that I don’t need to take iron anymore and my One-A-Day Women’s had too much. Apparently it can become toxic in excess. So I switched over to her Thorne Brand. She confirmed continued use of my new found love – black cohosh (suppressed my hot flashes).

So eventually we got to the needle part. I have a pretty high tolerance for pain so I was fairly relaxed. She began with a deep tissue massage of the forearm and then followed that with the needles. The ones in my wrist and knees went in with no pain, but I have to admit the ones near the elbow joint were brutal. 

After they were in place, she left me alone to relax so they could do their healing. I was laying down and suddenly felt the need to move my arm around. Man – not a good idea – very painful. The best I could describe was cramped and achey. When she returned to remove the needles I asked if that was normal. She explained that as the energy reaches the acupoints it pulsates or throbs. That was it. It was like little lightning rods that attracted energy and then vibrated!

Well I go back next week for part two. I do feel a bit better so I am hoping for more success next week so stay tuned!

~ by lesismore64 on Monday, September 15, 2008.

Leave a comment